San Diego Legal Advocates
No Cost Case Evaluation 619.304.9190
Domestic Violence, Battery Charges in California

Domestic Violence, Battery Charges in California

Under California law, committing domestic battery can result in a fine of up to $2,000 and/or imprisonment in a county jail for up to one year. If that person is granted probation or their sentence is suspended, then they will be required to participate in and complete a batterer’s treatment program or court designated appropriate counseling program for no less than one year.

In order to be considered domestic battery in California, the victim must be one or more of the following:

  • The parent of the offender’s child;
  • The offender’s fiancée or fiancé;
  • Have been in a dating relationship or engagement with the offender;
  • The offender’s former or current cohabitant;
  • The offender’s former or current spouse.

In addition to the fine and payments to the injured person, the person charged with a crime may also be required to make payments to a battered women’s shelter, unless those payments would impair their ability to make payments to cover the cost of treatment of court-ordered child support payments.

Domestic Battery Resulting in Traumatic Injury

If the battery resulted in traumatic injuries – defined by California Penal Code 273.5 as a wound, internal, or external injury, including but not limited to an injury caused by suffocation or strangulation – then the person who willfully inflicted the injury can be charged with a felony. A conviction of this charge can result in a fine of up to $6,000 and/or imprisonment in a county jail for up to one year or for two, three, or four years in a state prison. In cases where the person being charged with battery resulting in traumatic injury was previously convicted for the same crime within the past seven years, then a conviction can result in a fine of up to $10,000 and/or imprisonment in a county jail for up to one year or for two, three, or four years in a state prison.

If you were charged with domestic violence in California, it’s important to contact a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. At Premier Criminal Defense, LLC, our San Diego criminal defense lawyers have the experience you need to secure the legal outcome you deserve. Call us at (619) 304-9190 to discuss your situation with a member of our firm over the phone, or fill out our online form today to schedule a consultation to go over your legal options as soon as possible.

Related Posts:

Categories: