COVID-19 UPDATE: We are open! Our team is working and offering consultations via phone, e-mail, and video conferencing. For Sale
Call Chris Castle To Inquire 602.851.8400 ext. 700
Assault Charges

Experienced San Diego Assault Lawyer

Protecting Your Rights to the Fullest Extent

Premier Criminal Defense is here to protect your rights if you have been arrested for or accused of assault. Our firm can take on any case. We have the resources and personnel to properly prepare for negotiating with the prosecution or litigating an assault case in criminal court. Led by Thomas Slattery, a San Diego criminal defense attorney who has worked as a former prosecutor and who has more than 17 years of criminal law experience, our team is completely committed to protecting our clients’ rights. We are relentless. We are willing to do whatever it takes to secure the best result for every client we represent.

Assault is a violent crime that may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony with penalties depending on the nature of the act, whether a weapon was used, and whether the victim was a police officer, firefighter, or other protected person. By evaluating the circumstances surrounding your charges and conducting an independent investigation of the evidence and facts of the case, we can take the approach that will help you avoid maximum penalties or a conviction altogether. We can even secure a dismissal of all charges in some cases.

Interested in finding out more? Call (619) 374-1268 for a no-cost case evaluation.

Assault vs. Aggravated Assault in California

There are two primary classifications of assault in California: simple assault and aggravated assault.

  • Simple assault involves an attempt to commit violent injury on another person. Even if the attempt was not successful, a person may face assault charges as they apply specifically to the effort to carry out the act. Simple assault is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
  • Aggravated assault involves assault with a deadly weapon or firearm. This offense may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, punishable by up to 1 year in county jail or 2, 3, or 4 years in state prison, and/or a fine of up to $10,000. Enhanced penalties will apply for offenses involving semiautomatic weapons, machine guns, or assault against a firefighter or peace officer.

Take this opportunity to find out more about your options and legal rights in the face of assault or aggravated assault charges. Contact our firm at (619) 374-1268.

Trust Our Firm to Fight Your Case

Available 24/7 to Take Your Call or Email
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.