San Diego Legal Advocates
No Cost Case Evaluation 619.304.9190
Hit & Run Charges

Hit & Run

Why You Need a San Diego Criminal Attorney

Hit and run, or leaving the scene of an accident, is a criminal offense that may be classified as a misdemeanor or a felony in California. If you are involved in an accident, even if you are not at fault, you must remain at the scene to exchange information with the other driver. The only exception may be if you are seriously injured and are taken from the scene in an ambulance, but in other scenarios you are required by law to identify yourself and exchange information.

If you are suspected of leaving the scene of an accident that caused property damage alone, you could face up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. These are significant penalties that will change your life. You need a San Diego criminal lawyer to help you avoid a conviction and maximum penalties. With an understanding of criminal proceedings and an unparalleled commitment to protecting our clients’ constitutional rights, we at Premier Criminal Defense, LLC are here to help you.

Call our firm at (619) 304-9190 for a no-cost evaluation of your hit and run charges.

Misdemeanor vs. Felony Hit & Run Charges

In California, hit and run may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances surrounding the offense. Misdemeanor hit and run involves an accident that causes property damage. Felony hit and run involves an accident that causes bodily injury. Both charges involve the same basic elements, and it is helpful to understand these if you’ve been accused of leaving the scene of an accident.

According to California Vehicle Code § 20002, it is illegal to:

  • Leave the scene of an accident without first identifying yourself to the other party/parties involved; if
  • Another’s property was damaged in the accident; or
  • Another person was injured in the accident.

Identifying yourself may include providing our name and contact information, your driver’s license number, and your insurance information. If no property was damaged and no one was injured, you are not required by law to exchange information with the other party/parties.

Accused of leaving the scene of an accident? Call (619) 304-9190 today!

Trust Our Firm to Fight Your Case

Available 24/7 to Take Your Call or Email
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.