San Diego Legal Advocates
No Cost Case Evaluation 619.304.9190
Rape Accusations

San Diego Rape Defense Attorney

Former Prosecutor on Your Side

If you’ve been accused of rape, your future is at risk. You may face years in state prison and heavy fines if convicted, in addition to mandatory sex offender registration – for life. You need a competent San Diego criminal lawyer who has the absolute willingness to do whatever it takes to achieve the best possible result in your case.

Premier Criminal Defense, LLC approaches rape cases with the intensity and determination it takes to pursue a positive outcome. We prepare, strategize, and fight relentlessly on our clients’ behalf. Our team represents clients facing rape, date rape, statutory rape, and all other sex crime charges in San Diego and across California.

For a no-cost case evaluation, call our offices at (619) 304-9190.

What are the penalties for rape in California?

Depending on the circumstances surrounding the offense, you can be facing anywhere between three to eight years in California state prison. If the victim was a minor, the minimum prison sentence is seven years while the maximum is 13 years. The unfortunately reality of rape charges is that oftentimes innocent people are wrongly accused – should you choose to retain legal counsel from Premier Criminal Defense, LLC, you can trust that our team will work tirelessly to build the best possible case on your behalf.

Date Rape

Date rape is a type of offense used to describe nonconsensual intercourse between people who know one another, such as acquaintances, friends, or people considering or engaging in a romantic relationship. This offense often involves the alleged use of drugs like ketamine, gamma hydroxybutyric acid (GHB), or flunitrazepam to incapacitate the victim and induce memory loss of the event.

  • In California, possession of so-called “date rape drugs” is a felony offense punishable by imprisonment for 16 months, 2 years, or 3 years, if the drugs were possessed with the intent to commit sexual assault.

Statutory Rape

California Penal Code § 261.5 covers statutory rape. Also referred to as unlawful sex with a minor or unlawful sexual intercourse, this offense involves engaging in sexual intercourse with a minor under the age of 18. This charge exists because minors are considered unable to give lawful consent to sexual intercourse due to their age. Adults face severe penalties if they are accused of engaging in sexual intercourse with minors:

  • When the age difference between the defendant and minor is no more than 3 years, statutory rape is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in county jail.
  • When the age difference is greater than 3 years, statutory rape may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony.
  • When involving a minor under the age of 16 and an adult aged 21 or older, statutory rape may be charged as a felony punishable by up to 4 years in state prison.

Do not let your future be threatened by these harsh penalties. Call a San Diego criminal defense attorney at (619) 304-9190 today!

Trust Our Firm to Fight Your Case

Available 24/7 to Take Your Call or Email
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.